does wanting something make you believe in it?

an interesting question to propose… does wanting something make you believe in it? as usualy for me, i don’t see this as a black and white question and then i start to look at what’s behind the question…. if wanting something makes you believe in it, does it make it true? if i want to be a successful person in my field, does that help me believe in it? yes, i think it does… if i believe in it, does it make it true? not necessarily… but it has the potential to make it true, to make it real for me… what’s real for me does not have to be real for everyone else, however in my example, i’d love it to be real for everyone else because then it would be true and i would believe it and (hopefully) still want it… a never-ending circle of productivity… perhaps… however, if wanting something unhealthy makes me believe in it, which makes it true for me, is it “good”? if i want to be the skinny hollywood-esque cover girl, then i can believe in it and make it true for myself… if i take action on this, then i could end up in a never-ending cycle of dieting, unhealthy eating habits, self-loathe, and all manner of nasties… so this appears “bad”… such a seemingly simple question has become a maelstrom of different emotions, ideas, and beliefs… how can it be good? how can it be bad? what are the underlying questions? how does that affect me? how do i feel about this question? in my life, am i wanting something so much that i’m believing that it’s true when it’s not? is this a harmful or a helpful thing? where do i go with this new line of thinking? how is it playing out in my life? how do i want it to play out in my life? oh dear… so many more things to start thinking about… where to start without getting myself all mixed up…. hmm…

Leave a Reply

