Living Vicariously

Why is vicarious living so popular? I often find myself living vicariously through others and I often hear others living vicariously through me. Why is this phenomenon becoming so common? Shouldn’t we all be living our own lives rather than dreaming of others’ lives? Perhaps if we focused more on our own life, we would see how wonderful it really is!

A great example for me today was when I was mentioning how it’s difficult to work remotely because others often forget that I have to work. (This can be quite frustrating – I’m trying to work, but I keep getting interrupted!) Then it was pointed out that I can work remotely – how amazing is that?!? At the moment, I’m not tied to a specific geographic location, but rather just a location in the “ether” that is the Internet. That means I can be anywhere in the world (theoretically) and do my job that has a physical location somewhere else. This is more than amazing – it is wonderful! But then I got back onto the topic of how others think I’m on vacation because I’m not at my desk 1000 km away. Again, it was pointed out to me – how wonderful is that?!? That my desk can be 1000 km away, but I’m still working and I don’t have to take vacation to be close to the ones I love! This is truly amazing – and I don’t want to change it for anything. Not yet, anyway. So, there are others who want to live vicariously through me because of this situation. That’s cool. But if they focused on their own lives, they would see how cool that is: they have a loving family, a loving home, a beautiful home, an amazing connection to their true selves… Things I wish I had – so I started living vicariously through them… Until I remembered how terrific my own life is…

I sometimes get lost in the ideas of the “perfect life” and wonder if it will ever happen to me. I see others in their “perfect lives” and wish I were them, or at least I try to live vicariously through their stories and their lives. I forget that I have my own wonderful life that many others wish they had – and some do live vicariously through me. But I think that if we concentrated on our own lives more, we wouldn’t feel the need to live vicariously through others; that we’d be happier with our own lives and realise how amazing we are every day.

I guess I’m trying to say that in a time of “open access” to others’ lives, we need to make the conscious effort to acknowledge and live our own lives. Our own lives are the ones that create our memories, our path, and our enjoyment in life. By concentrating more on our own lives, we can enhance our experiences and become more thankful for what we are living each day. If we can be more thankful and appreciative, then I think we are further along the path that we should follow. In line with this way of thinking, I read a wonderful sentence today and think that it makes a great quote:

The true path is chosen by our ability to love it, not to suffer for it.

2 thoughts on “Living Vicariously

  1. At the core of our being is happiness and if we cannot find that within then we look elsewhere…comes down to faith and what you believe in, I guess…

Leave a Reply

