A year ago…

…we met. I looked at you and I told myself “NO.” I was quite emphatic with it, too. I told myself that I couldn’t do it – that it wasn’t a good idea – that it was “not an option”. I went against my intuition and resisted my heart. I tried to look away; I tried to remind myself that I was “just visiting”. I told myself that I couldn’t do it – that it was unworkable. I met you and I knew that it was *you*. As much as I tried to deny it, as much as I tried to convince myself that I must be wrong, it didn’t work. I think I lasted about 30 minutes before I knew that I couldn’t keep ignoring what my heart was screaming at me. It was screaming so loud. So very loud. It gave me a headache – not to mention a heartache.

So, we started gently, slowly. We started from the beginning. We started with nothing but long conversations and heartfelt desires. The time was never enough – we were always wanting more time. We found time. We found ways around the obstacles thrown in our path. We talked. We walked. We were able to just “be” with each other. We didn’t need to talk – we could feel. Our minds and souls talked in our silence. They talked with each other in a language that was so complicated that we could only feel it. Our souls connected; our hearts connected; our lives connected, never to be the same again.

We talk constantly; we plan our future; we plan our way. We take it one step at a time. We talk about the next step, not five steps down the track. We focus on building our world; we focus on creating our future. Even though we are separated physically, we are always together: we look at the same moon every night; we breathe the same in this earth; we see the same sun rise every morning. While distance may separate us physically, it cannot separate our hearts, minds, or souls: they are connected in a way that cannot be broken by space or time.

We’ve had tough times; we’ve had amazing times. We’ve played by the rules; we’ve done everything “right”. We’re still doing it right – we’re still going strong. The universe will conspire to bring us together physically. We just need to have a little more patience. A little more time to be where we are. A little more time to be ourselves. A little more time to be.

You’ve been amazing, incredible, unimaginably wonderful. You read my mind and answer my questions without my asking; you see me and you know what I need; you understand my complications, my intricacies, my innermost being. You know me – you’ve known me since you first saw me. Thank you.

I see you. I hear you. I feel you. I understand.

Together we can. We will.

A song that feels right for tonight. For now. For you. For me. ♥

2 thoughts on “A year ago…

Leave a Reply

