Cinnamon Apple Creamed Cereal

I’ve been wanting to make this one for ages now – I just never seem to feel like it’s the right moment. It’s not particularly difficult, but just takes some time. Finally, on a day when all I wanted was a warm porridge-like food to eat, I took the time and made it. It tastes amazing! As someone who misses eating porridge-like cereals on cold mornings, this was the perfect substitution, if you could call it that. I’d rather call it a permanent replacement. I’ve never had porridge taste as good as this creamed cereal does!

The recipe makes quite a lot (e.g. six or eight serves), so it’s also great to have in the fridge for those mornings where you just don’t seem to have enough time to make something substantial to start your day. I recommend that you eat it warm, but it tastes great cold as well. Also, a little bit goes a long, long way! The first time that I ate some, I used my “normal” amount in a bowl (as per the photo below), but this kept me full for hours and hours – I didn’t feel like eating lunch! Well, not until late in the afternoon, anyway.

Now, onto the recipe – it’s really quite easy. The version of the recipe I’ve posted here has some adaptations to the original as a result of what was in my cupboard at the time. My version was not as sweet as I imagine the original to be because I didn’t use macadamia nuts or medjool dates – I used almonds and “regular” dates instead. It still tasted amazing and I think some more adaptations can be made to suit your own tastes and cupboard stock. Also, I think that it won’t need any sweeteners at all – the dates and apples combine to make one sweet mix. I’d actually say that it’s sweet enough to be a dessert, too!

Cinnamon Apple Creamed Cereal

Ingredients

1 cup raw walnuts
1/2 cup raw almonds
1 C dates, pitted and soaked in hot water for 10 mins

3 small apples, peeled and diced
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp ground cinnamon (or cinnamon to taste – I love cinnamon!)

1/2 cup almond milk
1 can (400 ml) full fat coconut milk

Instructions

  1. Combine nuts and dates in a food processor until ground, about 1 minute; set aside. (You can chop and grind the nuts and dates as much as you like – I left mine with smaller chunks so I had a chunky cereal rather than a fine one.)
  2. Sauté apples over a medium heat in the coconut oil until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. I added my cinnamon here, too, but you can leave it to the next step if you prefer.
  3. Add the nut and date mixture and cinnamon to the apples and stir to incorporate.
  4. Reduce heat to low and add coconut and almond milks. (I also added the leftover date “juice” from when I soaked the dates.)
  5. Stirring occasionally, let mixture cook uncovered until thickened, about 15 minutes.

NB. This will keep in the fridge for a week or so – if you stop yourself from eating it, that is!

Now, the photo does not do the taste justice and I will improve my food photography skills. However, with this one, I was just too keen to eat it! (The original recipe has better photos – go check them out!)

Cinnamon Apple Cereal

Leave a Reply

