The dogs of Kathmandu

Recently, when I was working in Kathmandu, I couldn’t help but notice all the street dogs. They are everywhere and they seem to wander the streets at will, but also have defined territories. They are very resilient – you can see their battle scars clearly. They are also calm and enjoying a relatively lazy life. They also look amazingly similar as you can see below. (Yes, they are all different dogs on different days.) It makes me wonder about their life and how they survive.

One particular dog caught my attention – the dog in the middle of the image. He lived near the taxi rank, so I saw him every day for a little over three weeks. Every time I saw him, he looked content and poised. He never looked hungry or sad, but rather he appeared to be the king of his territory. He was constantly surveying his territory and making sure he ruled it all. Other dogs would stay away and avoid any contact. He wouldn’t budge for any human or other animal, either; they had to walk around him. A very proud dog in the middle of life in a busy area in Kathmandu. He constantly reminded me of Nepali people, too, with his approach to life: proud, calm, resilient.

The dogs of Kathmandu

Kathmandu Dog Pack {True} Story

Warning: Depicts a graphic scene – you may not want to read this.

The first time I went to Nepal, I arrived late at night and had the hotel transport pick me up from the airport. I was exhausted – I had just traveled for more than 36 hours to get here. But I was excited to be in a new city to see new things. It was just after Tihar and many buildings still had lights all over them – it was a beautiful sight. We were going around a corner when a pack of dogs caught my eye – it looked like they had cornered some prey and were going to have dinner. I looked closer to see what they had found; they had found another weaker dog. The pack was about 8 or 9 dogs strong; the dog being attacked was weak and helpless. It was horrid: the pack dogs were taking it in turns to bite and tear apart the other dog. I could hear the other dog whimpering and crying. It was a terrible scene and one that I didn’t want to see. Thankfully, after about one minute of being so close to this situation, the transport moved on. I don’t know what happened, but I sure can imagine it.

Now I understand the saying “it’s a dog eat dog world”. Literally.

Leave a Reply

