Reflecting on the past 12 months…

So, this post is inspired a little by Estrella’s post on her top five moments of 2013 and a little on today being my birthday. It’s a good day to have a birthday, I think. I like the timing and the day of the year. It really suits me and I enjoy it a lot~ It also means that my Christmas and birthday are over pretty quick and I don’t really have to leave the festive mood once the new year begins…instead, I continue the celebration through to my birthday. One big, long celebration!

Anyway, the point of this post – my top five things in my something-something-th year of life. Here goes:

  1. I lived in Egypt for five months – wow and just WOW!!!!
  2. I travelled to Romania, met Estrella, made a lifelong friend, and was amazed by the country. It is a serious “must go now!” country. Really. I swear I’m not biased. Not a little. (Well, maybe just a *little* teeny bit…)
  3. I was able to seriously indulge in my reading addiction.
  4. I spent some amazing times with my other half. He’s amazing. Truly.
  5. I reconnected with my mother on such a deeper level. So good – so supportive – so beautiful.

It was difficult for me to pinpoint these moments, but they were there among many more moments. As I get older, I realise the value of my relationships and the value of experiences such as travel. I really do. Of course, when I was younger I had many amazing experiences but they were often tainted by following the crowd and not being sure of who I was. Every day I learn a little more about myself and I love myself a little more {in a deeply, honourably good way}. I surprise myself, too – both good and bad surprises. But it’s all part of what makes me who I am. And I love that.

Birthday roses

While this may not be the best photo, it is one full of meaning. Fresh roses picked from the garden at early-o’clock this morning especially for me. They smell divine and have been keeping me company all day while I work. ❤

3 thoughts on “Reflecting on the past 12 months…

  1. For me as well, it was difficult for me to pinpoint the certain moments I talked about on my blog.
    But, aww, it makes me happy to have inspired a blog post, and especially getting to know you. It says something important, that we both have that moment/trip among our top five moments of 2013. We must do it again! Soon. ❤

    That is a lovely bunch of hand-picked roses, I bet they do smell divine. Can't wait for fragrant garden flowers to be in season again here.
    And I think it is a lovely picture, and I just love that I can see a certain little heart on the inspiration board in the background there. Sounds great to "be hanging out with you" while you work. *huge hugs*

    • Egypt is an amazing country – don’t listen to anything you hear on the news. It has its moments where it is not as comfortable as a Western country might be, but overall it is just amazing. To be surrounded by people with such a rich and long culture, and to feel remnants of that every day, is quite amazing. I would recommend anyone to live there, as long as you don’t mind a little dust (care of the encroaching desert, but it’s definitely manageable and not a real issue). I lived in a “quiet” part of Cairo and that was still an adventure and I could still feel the oldness of the civilisation. It was really quite amazing. The good is great and the people are generally so friendly and helpful – really just genuinely kind people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

